Uncle Steve

Dear Lena,

You never got to meet my Great Uncle Steve. This is a fact that will always make me sad. We were almost able to meet up this summer but he just got too sick so it didn’t work out.

I sat down on the couch after I got off the phone with Nana who called to tell me the news, you walked over and asked me if I was sad. I said yes and told you why I was sad. You quietly and steadily said that we should light a fire. We should light a fire and he died away but he will be back.

We lit a candle in honor of your Great Great Uncle Steve tonight. Though I think you were channeling Uncle Steve with the suggestion of lighting a fire…I’m sure he would have gotten a chuckle out of the two of us starting a bonfire in the park blocks.

Love,

Mutti

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

