you

Dear Lena,

When I first saw this picture I couldn’t take my eyes off it. One of your teachers took it while you were at Schule one day playing outside. There is just something about it, something that makes me catch my breath a little every time I see it. I see you. The you that I see when I close my eyes, thats the you I see in this picture. Most people see the cheery, dimpled ear to ear smile, but this is what I see. An almost-smile and very old eyes. I see your wisdom, your been-here-before soul.

I can’t believe how much you have grown. From our wide-eyed newborn to our curious toddler, I see a little girl that is blossoming, I see the woman you will become.

Love,

Mutti

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

