Haiti

Dear Lena,

There was an earthquake in Haiti. One that was very large, one that did a lot of damage and killed a lot of people. That seems so small when it is written in black and white. This world is scary. It shakes, it explodes, it churns, and it cracks. In the midst of it all though, there is beauty, there is peace. On the news they told the story about the earthquake in Mexico in the 80’s that killed thousands of people. 15 newborn babies were trapped in the nursery of Hospital Juarez, these babies spent 7 days buried in the dark and cold all alone, but survived. They SURVIVED. This morning a live feed from Port-au-Prince a woman was rescued from the ruins of a cathedral. Her grown son wept with joy. Through this tragedy there is still joy. Sadness in the massive loss of life, but pure joy mixed in. The world has taken notice of this mostly forgotten place, unfortunately it is because of horrific circumstance as is usually the case in these forgotten somewheres. I want you to learn from this Elleanor, and I hope that perhaps one day we can take you to another corner of the world where disadvantaged does not mean having only 10 channels on ones T.V. and not 500. Not so you can be more grateful for the things we have, but to be mindful of the worlds struggle. Of the human struggle.

I don’t know if I believe in god my Lena bear. I don’t know if I believe in the absence of god either. I do know I believe in hope though. I believe in the goodness of people. I believe we are all Haiti, we are all in ruins, we all need help being built up every now and then. We have to look to each other for food, water, shelter and care.  Above all Lena, I believe in love. Sometimes the only way to say I love you is through a donation. So  I sent 50 dollars to Mercy Corps in your name today, I know you would do it if you had access to an account, and could type.

Love,

Mutti

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

