to be and to have

Dear Lena,

           IMGP6872 Mutti was working on your Halloween costume today. Quite the undertaking in fur I might say. I made my dresses for the 3 high school dances I went to, I take that back…I made 2 dresses…but various other things. Anyway, the last two years of high school I spent hours and hours in the basement of Auntie Schwee’s house making things.We would sew into the wee hours of the morning, all the while talking and laughing.  These were some of the best times of my life and I realized this today when cutting out the pattern for your costume.

IMGP6867I am telling you this Elleanor because I hope you will be blessed with great friends as I have been. I want you to know that friendship takes work, especially when friends grow up and move thousands of miles apart. You have to touch base every now and then, even if it’s something little like a text message (you will get a cell phone when you are 16, no earlier).  Above all my Lena Bear, I want you to know how to be a good friend. How you look at  your puppy, your  ball, your Ah-Ah and your empty Sprite bottle  is how I hope you look to your people friends in the future. Greet them with a smile and love them with your entire soul.

IMGP6870 I think you’ll be a great friend, you can learn from the great friends Mutti and Vati have (your various “Aunts” and “Uncles”).

Love,

Mutti

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

